allthingssweaty

…because real women sweat. Not perspire. Not glow. Sweat.

First post-baby run…

I’ve decided that my first post-baby run was a success. I’m calling it a success because I didn’t die.

After we dropped Little Man off at school, Hubby took Baby Boy back home in the stroller and I ran off in the opposite direction.  I think the route I took home was a little less than a mile. I started off well enough, although it felt really awkward to be moving my legs like that again, since they are used to the sitting or laying down position. I had to wonder if I was doing it right. And don’t get me started on the inner thighs rubbing together…time to get. rid. of. those. I thought I was moving along pretty good when I was pushed to run even faster when a huge wasp decided to take up the whole sidewalk and then chase me when I tried to pass him. If you know me, you know I have an irrational fear of wasps, and I’m sure it was hilarious to watch me try to outrun and dodge it all at the same time. Hopefully I gave that Honda that passed a good laugh.

I had a good pace going and I thought that I was going to be able to run the whole way back. Then my knee decided I’d had enough at that point. Walked it out a bit and started jogging again. My ankle was the naysayer this time. Ugh, I’m not sure what’s going on with those joints, but they didn’t let me hit a good pace again. I would say I ran half of the way back home, so maybe half a mile? I also remembered that I hate running. This is why I only do 5K obstacle courses. The running sucks.

So anyway, I didn’t die, but I wasn’t the baller I thought I was going to be. As much as I hate running, I will do it at least once a week until I can get into a gym and onto a treadmill. I can do interval training on the treadmill and I like that so much more than long distance running.  I think I will stick to jump roping and strength training for now 🙂

Stay sweaty, my friends.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

