allthingssweaty

…because real women sweat. Not perspire. Not glow. Sweat.

Hello again!

Hey everyone! First of all, happy Memorial Day. Thank you to those of you who are service members, and a special thank you goes out to those who have given the ultimate sacrifice so that our country can be what it is today.

Baby Boy was born on May 9 at 12:26 pm. He was 7 lbs 11 oz, and was 21 inches long. He came via c-section. We tried to wait for him to come on his own, but mama was done waiting. My recovery is going well, although it seems to be taking longer than with Little Man. I’m still in a decent amount of pain at the incision site, so my idea of getting out and walking everyday isn’t going as planned. I’m being told by numerous people that I need to take it easy, but I’ve been taking it easy for 18 days now and I’m going crazy!! I just want to get back in the gym! My doctor has told me that walking (short walks) is all that I can do right now. At 6 weeks post partum, I should be able to get back into the swing of things.

I won’t be able to hit it really hard right away…my stomach will still be healing. That means no ab workouts for a good while. Its a good thing that eating right will help you more with your abs than a lot of crunches!  Once I get started again, I will be back to posting workouts on here, so you can follow my journey. I’ll put the good and the bad of getting back into shape after baby. So far, walking up a slight hill while pushing the stroller has kicked my butt. I can’t even think about how its going to feel to run again. The thought kind of scares me, but I’ll get there. My goal is to run the Tough Mudder in October. You guys know me and my mud runs….well this is a mud run on steroids. 10-12 miles with over 20 obstacles. Bring. It. On. I’ll definitely let y’all know how that goes.

Here’s a picture of my transformation so far. I’ve gone from 178 lbs at 40 weeks preggo (blue shirt) to 157 lbs 18 days post partum (yellow shirt…but that was at 10 days post partum…belly is even flatter now). Its mostly due to nursing. If you are pregnant and are trying to decide if breast feeding is for you, I highly recommend it.  But if you are in a situation where you can’t, don’t beat yourself up. Every choice you make as a mama (as long as it doesn’t harm the baby) is the right choice 🙂

PhotoGrid_1369016874431

Oh, the dumbest thing about c-section recovery so far is the fear of sneezing. Every time I have to sneeze, I scare myself out of it. When it does happen, it feels like my incision is going to burst open. Yikes!!

Stay sweaty, my friends!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

