allthingssweaty

…because real women sweat. Not perspire. Not glow. Sweat.

Training Tuesday-Body Combat

Feel like mixing up your routine a bit? I totally recommend taking a class (if offered) called Body Combat. Its a Les Mills workout, so its brought to you by the same people who do Body Pump and Body Flow, and you can order it if you can’t find a class near you. I call it high cardio martial arts. Don’t let the name fool you, you aren’t fighting someone…you’re just fighting your excuses, your fat, your out-of-shapeness, whatever is hurting you at the time. Its a mix of punching, kicking, shuffling, a little dancing and getting your butt moving.

Since I am pregnant, I had to really concentrate on holding myself back and staying at a lower intensity…the music and instructors really make you want to get loud and fast! I couldn’t do the jump shuffling and the jump kicking, but I made sure to keep my feet marching so I could get all the cardio I could out of it. Even if you’re a beginner, there are options you can take so you don’t feel like you’re going to die. If you’ve ever taken Turbo Kick, its similar, but not as high impact. Perfect for us preggos out there! I did get a little hot toward the end (might have had something to do with the 50 women that were sweating next to me), so I had to take some time to cool myself down. Other than that, this is a workout that I think all levels can do, even us preggos. (Again, if you are just starting a workout routine as a pregnant woman, work your way up to this…don’t start with it.) And make sure to take lots of water!

Your back, butt, biceps, abs and shoulders will be super sore the next couple days. These are all the things that I feel need to be worked as a pregnant woman. We can’t do crunches or most ab work, so getting a core workout indirectly from all the punching is perfect. Our upper body tends to get a little weak while we are carrying our bundles of joy in our bellies, and who doesn’t need a strong butt?

65833_465702340157933_688582869_n

If you can’t tell, I absolutely loved this workout and plan to work it into my routine (if I can ever get back into one!).

Stay sweaty, my friends!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

