allthingssweaty

…because real women sweat. Not perspire. Not glow. Sweat.

New Years Resolutions

Like most fitness blogs, I’m writing about New Year’s Resolutions today. Very expected, I know, but stick with me for a bit.

To me, resolutions are lame and will never work out. Have any of yours ever worked out? You set a resolution, for example, to eat better. Great! Now exactly how are you going to accomplish that? Most resolutions are so vague and generic; they are there to make people feel better about themselves instead of actually being the best self they can be. These all encompassing statements don’t lead anyone in the right direction, they don’t tell anyone how to actually accomplish the feat, and to me, are more harmful than helpful. If you don’t start eating right, you feel bad that you’ve, yet again, “failed” at a New Year’s resolution.

My advice would be to, instead of making a huge statement of how you’re going to be a better person this year, set small, attainable goals for yourself. Instead of saying, “I’m going to eat better,” set a goal to give up sugar for the next couple weeks or month. Or set a goal to cut fast food from your diet, or add more veggies at every meal. Instead of saying, “I’m going to work out more this year,” set the goal to work out three days a week this week. Then set another goal next week. Or set a goal to be able to run a mile by the end of January.  Setting small goals that you can achieve will make your transition to a healthier you much easier and more enjoyable.

Make sure your goals are

  • specific (“I will add three veggies to my meals this week,” instead of “I will eat more veggies.”)
  • attainable (“I will be able to run a mile by the end of January,” instead of, “I will run a 10K by the end of January.”
  • personal (don’t compare yourself to your friend who can run/lift/dance/whatever better than you)
  • progressive (make sure you’re making each step a little more challenging for yourself. If you can run a mile by the end of January, don’t be ok with that, push yourself to two by the middle of March.)

Here is another blog I wrote about setting goals.

Here is a great template to use for your goal setting process from getbuttonedup.com.  Goal_setting_form_template

Remember, goals are easier to achieve than resolutions. Good luck and HAPPY NEW YEAR!! Kick 2013’s butt!

Stay sweaty, my friends!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

