allthingssweaty

…because real women sweat. Not perspire. Not glow. Sweat.

Weekend update on challenges

The weekend is ALWAYS the hardest part of the week to keep up your determination and strong will to accomplish your goals. Especially if your goals are fitness based. At least, that’s true for me…

This weekend was really no different. I did not work out either day, but that’s what I had planned to do. Workout the five weekdays and rest on the weekends. Maybe I need to change it to workout four weekdays and one weekend day because I needed some stress relief this weekend. Saturday, Little Man decided he was going to act very 2. If you have kids, you know this means temper tantrums, asserting independence, and all around mischievousness.  After our day of nothing but time-outs and favorite toys going in Mommy’s closet, both of us needed a little break from home. We went to Kincaid’s burgers, and friends, I had a strawberry shake. After 5 days, I broke my no sugar goal. 😦 I felt bad at first, but then realized that I’m only human. At first, I saw it as a failure, but then realized that I had gone 5 whole days without sugar and that was something to be celebrated (not with the shake, but by letting myself off the whole guilt train). It is ok to stumble off your path every now and then, as long as you don’t stray too far. Get back on track as soon as you trip and you’ll be fine. My shake was a wonderful treat, and yesterday I didn’t have any sugar and today at the grocery store, it only went in the basket if it had no sugar or the sugar content was natural.  (And P.S. Those things that say “no sugar added” or “no sugar” are pumped full of artificial sweeteners that are worse for you than sugar is. Read the labels. If you see anything ending in “ose” such as fructose, glucose, dextrose, sucrose, and maltose, know these are all sugar. And do not get anything that has “sugar alcohol.” So bad for you.)

I want to post my “mess-ups” just as much as I want to post my successes to show you guys that “to err is human.” Beating yourself up over mistakes is going to make you feel horrible and odds are, that feeling will lead to more of the same mistake. Forgive yourself and make changes to where its harder to mess up next time.

Stay sweaty, my friends!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

