allthingssweaty

…because real women sweat. Not perspire. Not glow. Sweat.

Update on leg workout

Two weeks into the new leg workout, and my legs are so tired! I wanted to put this out there: If you are a beginner to working out, do not do this workout. It is hard and it takes a lot out of your body. I’m only working out three days a week (the three days of the workout) because my body is so drained the rest of the days.  If you feel like you can take this workout on, please modify it the first couple times. I am still not up to doing the whole thing. I have gotten better though, and I can really see my butt lifting a little and my legs look super strong! I wore a cute little dress and heels to my bday party the other night and felt super confident and sexy in them. Once you get past the degree of difficulty and aches in your legs, you will LOVE this workout. Stick with it and gradually work your way up to doing the whole thing. Here is what it looks like again:

Day 1 – Keep weights lower during this session.  If you see (4 x 10 exercise a/20 exercise b/rest), you should perform exercise b immediately following exercise a, and only rest at the end of exercise b.  Complete this combo for the total number of sets listed before exercise a.

Day 2 – This session is going to focus on fast explosive movements to really torch your hamstrings and glute muscles, before moving to the weights to finish things off.  Feel free to do the running parts on a treadmill or outside.

  • 20 x 10 second all out sprints/rest 15 second between each sprint
  • 5 x 2 minutes running in reverse (if using a treadmill start slow and gradually increase your speed)
  • 5 x 30 Jumping Lunges
  • 5 x 15 Tuck Jumps
  • 5 x 15 Plated Box Jumps
  • 3 x 10 Quad Extensions
  • 3 x 10 Hamstring Curls
  • 3 x 10 Leg Press Machine (first set feet wide, second set feet close, third set feet shoulder-width)
  • 3 x 40 Calve Raises on Smith Machine
  • 3 x 20 Side Barbell Squats (10 per each side)

Day 3 – We’re going to repeat the session from Day 1 with a few minor modifications to increase intensity. Also, be sure to increase weights as you’ll be performing fewer reps per set.

  • 4 x 8 Smith Machine Squats
  • 4 x 8 Barbell Deadlift (please make sure you are using proper form for this exercise!)
  • 3 x 20 Long Jumps
  • 4 x 12 Bulgarian Squat/1 minute jump rope/45 seconds rest
  • 4 x 20 Four Point Hops
  • 3 x 20 Reverse Dumbbell Lunges/20 forward lunges/rest 30 seconds (alternate legs)
  • 3 x 2 minutes Plated Speed Skaters/1 minute jump rope/45 seconds rest
  • 4 x 1 minute Line Jumps
  • 4 x 100 Speed Squats/10 X Jumps/45 seconds rest
  • 5 minutes jump roping (use as few rest breaks as possible)

Good luck and stay sweaty, my friends!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Update on leg workout

  1. I am starting this TODAY! My lower body hasn’t had my full attention lately and I need a kick in the butt – literally! I’ll take your advice and do what I can.

    Happy belated birthday!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

