allthingssweaty

…because real women sweat. Not perspire. Not glow. Sweat.

6/5/12 Workout…Awesome Upper Body

I’m a little behind on my workout posts, since this was yesterday’s workout. I had to go to El Paso for about 5 days to see my parents. I ended up driving there. I live in the Dallas/Fort Worth area, so it was about a 9 hour drive. With a 2 year old. Don’t ever do that. Ever.

Anyway, I stumbled across an upper body workout that I fell in love with. I had to share it with you guys, of course. Its 15 reps of each exercise, so choose a weight that goes with that number. If you usually only do 10 reps or so, pick a lighter weight. I use 15 pound dumbbells for the chest, biceps, and triceps, 12 for the shoulders, and 10 for the reverse flys (I don’t usually work this muscle…found that out the hard way…gotta start working it more).

  • 60 sec plank
  • one armed rows
  • chest press
  • seated shoulder press
  • chest flys (laying on back)
  • reverse flys (I have to do these standing. If you do them standing, bend at your waist until your back is almost parallel to the floor, squeeze your shoulder blades together as you lift your arms)
  • lateral raises (or side arm raises…works your shoulder (middle deltoid))
  • chest press
  • tricep dips on bench (I put a 15 lb dumbbell in my lap)
  • alternating bicep curls
  • reverse flys
  • laying tricep extensions (any tricep extension will work, I used the cable machine, 20 lbs)
  • 60 sec plank

One set will do if you are beginning. I do two sets of each, and if you’re really ambitious, do three.  Don’t forget a warm-up and a cool down with stretching.

Stay sweaty, my friends!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

