allthingssweaty

…because real women sweat. Not perspire. Not glow. Sweat.

5/15/12 Workout…4 different types of cardio!

It has been a week since I’ve worked out…a week!  After my boot camp training last week, I got a little run down and this is the first day I’ve felt 100%. So its back to the gym I go. I felt the need to do a lot of cardio, and since I am not a big fan of running forever, I spent 10 minutes on 4 different cardio machines for a total of 40 minutes of cardio. I made sure to get the most of each 10 minute increment and worked at a high intensity. I used the elliptical, the treadmill, the stair stepper, and the bike. I wasn’t sure if my theory would work, but I was sweating like crazy by the end. I may add this into my rotation.

How do I know if I’m working at a high intensity?

For some of you, that may mean checking your heart rate and making sure its at 75-85% of your max heart rate, and for others that means rating how hard you’re working on a scale from 1-10 or 6-20 (this is called the Rate of Perceived Exertion scale). If you use the 6-20, you want to be in the 12-17 numbers. That means you’re working on improving your cardiovascular endurance. Another way to tell if you’re working hard enough or too hard is the talk test. If you can sing without problem, you aren’t working hard enough. If you can have a conversation and be a little out of breath or take a breath every couple words, you’re probably in the right area, and if you absolutely cannot talk without keeling over, you need to bring it down a notch killer.

Stay sweaty, my friends!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

