allthingssweaty

…because real women sweat. Not perspire. Not glow. Sweat.

3/20/12 Workout…HIIT

Happy first day of Spring y’all!

Tracy and I have been doing interval running for a while now. I realized, however, that we were not truly doing High Intensity Interval Training, or HIIT, and I wanted to see if we could do it. There was a few, “I’m going to throw up”s and we definitely needed that 1 minute rest in between, but we got through it and now I’m hooked. We ran 30-60 splits, meaning we worked hard for 30 seconds and rested for 60 and repeated that 8 times. We started out at 9.5 for our sprints, but after 2, realized we could go to 10. Here’s what it looked like:

  • Minute 1-5    3.5 (warm-up)
  • Minute 5-7    6.0 (just for a little more warm-up)
  • 7:00-7:30     9.5
  • 7:30-8:30      5.0
  • 8:30-9:00      9.5 (if you need to, which we did,  grab the handles and step to the sides of the treadmill to rest while you bring the speed down)
  • 9:00-10:00    5.0
  • 10:00-10: 30 10
  • repeat 5 more times
  • 5 minutes cool down @3.0

By the 6th one, my chest was on fire, but my legs were still strong. By the 8th one, everything in my body wanted to quit, but I didn’t and it felt fantastic. This was an intermediate exercise. On an advanced one, you’d repeat the intervals 10-12 times. If you can get through one of these workouts, you will feel like a freakin rock star.

After we calmed down, we worked our arms. I think our legs had enough torture for today. Did this routine 3x through

  • lat pull downs, 50 lbs, 15 reps
  • Push ups, 15
  • Tricep dips, 15
  • Front shoulder raise, 10 lb dumbbells, 15
  • Bicep curl, 30 lb bar, 20
  • side shoulder raise, 10 lb dumbbells, 15
  • Tricep pull downs, 20 lbs, 20
  • upright rows, 15 lb kettlebell, 15

I’m beat. Thank goodness tomorrow is a rest day. You don’t want to do intervals like that too many times a week, your body needs rest after a hardcore routine like that. Rest is VERY important to get the results you want. Otherwise, you’re just breaking down your muscles more and more.

Happy sweating (and you’ll sweat a lot with this workout!)

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “3/20/12 Workout…HIIT

  1. This looks great! At the end of my training session today, I did 1 minute each at 6.0, 6.5, 7.0, 7.5 and 9.0. I’ve never done that before, and it was a lot of fun! What you did was way harder. I need to try it.

  2. 9.5 mph on HIIT *heart attack*!!!! That’s insane! I’ve been running for 8 years and i doubt i’ll ever be able to run in that crazy speed! Yikes! Best of luck on your HIIT workout. I hope your also maintaing a high consumption of protein to rebuild those lost muscle tissue. Take it easy.

Leave a Reply

