allthingssweaty

…because real women sweat. Not perspire. Not glow. Sweat.

3/14/12 Workout

I did not feel like going to the gym today. Do you ever have those days? I was tired from our activities (two toddlers at the aquarium and other various running around), my stomach hurt, and Little Man looked too cute cuddled in my blankets watching Mickey Mouse while I got dressed. I was two seconds away from texting Tracy that I wasn’t feeling it today, when I heard that annoying voice in the back of my head telling me I’d regret it. She’s right. I hate it when she’s right. So I pulled on my nikes, got Little Man dressed, and took my butt to the gym. I think part of it was that we have hit the 3rd or 4th week of our training and I didn’t want to do any of the things we have been doing. I think you call that a rut. lol So I changed things up a bit. We did some actual lifting for strength instead of endurance and threw in some jump rope for cardio. Just as the little voice knew I would, I perked up and left the gym in a fantastic mood.

While one person lifted, the other jump roped for the duration of the set. If you don’t have a partner, jump rope for 30 sec after each set.

  • Warm-up, 3.5-4 speed on treadmill, 10 minutes
  • Squat, 60 lbs+bar, 3 sets of 12
  • Dead lift, 40 lbs bar, 3 sets of 12
  • Bench Press, 30 lbs+bar, 2 sets of 10
  • Shoulder Press, 15 lb dumbbells, 2 sets of 12
  • Side dumbbell raise, 10 lbs, 2 sets of 12
  • Bent over row, 12 lb dumbbells, 2 sets of 12
  • 2 sets of 30 sec jump rope
  • Stretch

My body thanked me for the hard lifting and will repay me by being sore tomorrow, but it was worth it. Remember, when you’re digging your heels in and trying to avoid something, go ahead and get it done. You never know, you might just like what you’ve been avoiding.

Happy Sweating!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “3/14/12 Workout

  1. Great job in overcoming the difficulties associated with sticking to your goal! It’s much easier to not do something, but as you said, it’s so much more rewarding that you overcame such negative thoughts. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

