allthingssweaty

…because real women sweat. Not perspire. Not glow. Sweat.

I am a Warrior!

The hubs and I did the Warrior Dash last year and it was so much fun. This year, since Hubs is off serving the country, I’m recruiting a couple friends to do it with me this year. If you haven’t heard of the Warrior Dash here’s the 4-1-1. Its a 5K (for you non-metric people, that’s 3.2 miles), but it has crazy obstacles every so often. I’m not a huge fan of running so this is perfect for me. The obstacles range from cargo nets to crawling through muddy water to jumping over fire. Its pretty extreme, but any fitness level can participate. If you can’t run, walk. If you can’t climb, just skip that obstacle. Rules aren’t really enforced, just don’t kick anyone in the face on purpose. (I say this because I almost had to do this to a guy who was rushing me on the cargo net last year.) These types of races are called Mud Runs or Adventure Races, so be on the lookout for ones near your town! They are so fun and a huge adrenaline rush. I’ve done two and am totally addicted.

We’ve signed up for April 22 and my workouts until then will be geared towards training for the race. There will be more running and more plyometrics (we already do a lot of those, but more wouldn’t hurt). Throw in some awesome upper and lower body workouts and we should be set to kick some ass. The race is more than just running, that’s why we need the other stuff thrown in. You may be able to run for miles, but if you have no upper body strength, that cargo net will be your demise.

Wish us luck and good luck to you if you follow my workouts! Happy sweating!

http://www.warriordash.com

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

