allthingssweaty

…because real women sweat. Not perspire. Not glow. Sweat.

My Philosophy

Hi guys! I have started this blog for one reason and one reason only: to help the world get healthy, happy, and fit. I’m going to be super honest in this blog because we can’t reach true happiness without getting seriously honest with ourselves.

I want to start off by telling you my story and my philosophy on working out. I started on my own (recent) fitness craze about 6 months after my son was born. He is 19 months old now. During my pregnancy, I gained 35 lbs, which is not a lot compared to some people, but it was a lot to me. And, according to all the magazines, on the high end of what you are supposed to gain over the full pregnancy term. I went from 145 to 180 lbs. 180?! That wasn’t a weight I thought I could ever get to. In the beginning of my pregnancy, I did all that I could to still eat right (in fact, I ate healthier than what I had been eating before), but towards the middle I got into basketball season. Coaching wreaks havoc on any person’s healthy, pregnant or not. There’s the late nights, the early practices, and the never-ending tournaments that leave you no choice but to eat fast food. (Don’t even get me started on the stress!!) Anyway, my eating habits pretty much went down the drain. I won’t get too much into pregnancy, because that will be one of my blog entries, but it’s NOT a reason to eat as much as you want, whenever you want.

After I had my son (17 hours and one c-section later), I was not sure how to start working out again. I knew with a c-section, I was going to have to take it easy for a while. If you know me and my workout ethic, you know I don’t take it easy. In college, I was the QB of our flag football team and those girls will tell you I’m a little intense when it comes to competition. I played basketball in high school and tried to do as much as I could in college, so I’ve worked out almost my whole life. With all that said, I’ll be honest and say I put off getting back to the gym as long as I could. I was cleared after 6 weeks to start light workouts, but I think it took until September or October until I really took it seriously again. (Logan was born in June.) In the beginning, I tried the workout DVD’s during Logan’s naps. I tried Jillian’s 30 Day Shred; I tried P90X, and all they really made me want to do is strangle Jillian Michaels and Tony Horton. I’m pretty sure I literally yelled at Tony to, “shut the hell up!” Jumping around while Logan slept in his infant swing made me super anxious anyway…I knew he would wake up and there went my time for the day. Needless to say, DVD workouts weren’t for me.

The way I got myself back into loving to workout was I started going to the classes at my gym. The instructors were so uplifting and energetic and fun, it was hard to get mad at them for making me sweat. The people I got to know were super supportive and so crazy that they made workouts fun. My favorite class was and still is Turbo Kick. Have y’all ever been to a class like this? Crazy cardio, punching, kicking, abs…how can you not love it? Body Pump got my muscles feeling toned again. I realized that I LOVE to be sore. Yes, it sucks not being able to walk right, but all it means is that you worked as hard as you could and pushed your body to its limit. The classes were amazing, but the event that truly got my motivation and competitive spirit back was the Warrior Dash. If you haven’t heard of the Warrior Dash, you should look it up. Its an adventure 5k. Running, jumping, pushing your way through muddy obstacles, climbing, you name it, the Warrior Dash has got it. Its like being a kid again and playing in the mud, but you’re kicking ass while you’re doing it. I got mud in places I don’t even want to talk about, but the high I got afterward was amazing. I got hooked. I did another one this past fall called the JailBreak. So much fun. I’ve also burnt out on classes, so I’m pushing myself to find harder cardio workouts and more challenging strength workouts. I now weight 140 and (besides high school, b/c who still really looks like they did in high school? hello, I have hips now) I am in the best shape of my life.

This past summer, I decided I wanted to take what I have learned and pass it on to others. I took a personal training class at the Cooper’s Institute and will be taking my personal training exam here at the end of February. I loved being a teacher and coach before I had Logan and now I can do both at the same time. I want to help as many people as I can find their inner strength and find that they can push their own limits. My philosophy is that healthy and happy go hand in hand. Its scary the amount of people who are obese in this country. People are finding happiness in food and tv and their couch rather than inside themselves. You’d be amazed at what a little exercise can do for your body. You don’t have to spend hours in the gym to find fitness; it can take you as little as thirty minutes of walking a day to get you on your way to a new you. You have more energy, you’re happier, you’re less stressed, etc. Eating right doesn’t mean completely denying yourself yummy food, it means getting a balanced look at food. (because let’s face it, real women cheat on their “diets”) So, let’s get off the couch and get out there and sweat! Because real women sweat….

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

